Fudgebudget

Wherein I express myriad incredulities

Aspiration, fartleks, and more running non-sequitors

leave a comment »

Two weeks ago, I aspirated a moth while running. Because I was in a timed speed interval, I coughed it out, kept running, and when I passed back by the dead winged monster on a walking interval, I took a break to say, “SUCK IT, BITCH, I WIN.”

I think I started doing fartleks because the word “fartlek” is fun to say out loud, but those are actually fun. For years, I’ve had a recurring dream that I forget how to run and can’t make myself do it, so there is something very freeing about sprinting.

Sometimes I listen to music or an audiobook while I run, but often I run or walk with nothing on and keep my headphones on so that I have an excuse not to talk to the people who try to chat on the trails. Why would I want to chat with someone who is literally going 1/3 of my speed with an obnoxious leashed chihuahua? Unless you’re giving me a “GO BLUE” while I’m running in a Michigan shirt, I don’t want to talk to you. My face is red, there is sweat everywhere, I’m out of breath, and I’m on a timed interval schedule, but I still heard you say, “Well then, just ignore the people trying to talk to you.” Thanks, I will continue to do that.

Written by fudgebudget

July 8, 2012 at 6:07 am

Leave a comment