Fudgebudget

Wherein I express myriad incredulities

The Perfect Storm

leave a comment »

I booked a hotel reservation last month so that I wouldn’t have to camp out under a bridge when I go to a conference in June.

I went through a 3rd party vendor to book my room because the rate was awesome that way, and I could use Bill Me Later to spread my payments out over 6 months interest free. Win/win/win, right?

Well, then I decided that this would be an excellent opportunity to have a family get together and the mother and sibling could come. ANOTHER WIN, right?

Current tally: win/win/win/win

Well, my room only has a queen sized bed, but they were only going to be there for 3 of the 6 days that I would be there. So, brilliant idea, how about I upgrade the room to a double/double for the days my mom and sister would be there? I could just pay the difference and save the family money!

Win/win/win/win/win

So, I called the 3rd party vendor:

She must have this on her upholstered cubicle wall:

Fail/fail/fail/fail/fail

Dammit.

So I called the hotel:

Fail/fail/fail/fail/fail

Then they didn’t call.  I FINALLY got in touch with them, and they said:

So she said-

Wait for it …

At this point, I am trying not to scream at her. I managed to say:

Fail/fail/fail/fail/fail/fail/fail

This was repeated a second time, by the way. They claimed to have called and left a voicemail AGAIN when they did not.

Fail/fail/fail/fail/fail/fail/fail/fail

And, of course, when I finally spoke to a manager, they still couldn’t do anything about the reservation. But, they did make sure to tell me that if they managed to do what they’ve been telling me for 2 days that they cannot do, there will be a $35 room change fee.

Because OF COURSE there is.

Fail/fail/fail/fail/fail/fail/fail/fail/fail/FAIL

I didn’t want to give up and just get an additional room, because I couldn’t bear the thought of the hotel WINNING in this case. My perverted sense of justice can’t handle it. But, there’s no way that the employees at this hotel don’t know my name by now. I’m honestly afraid that the people to whom I have raised my voice are going to make sure that my room has unwashed linens and gross towels.

Fail/fail/fail/fail/fail/fail/fail/fail/FAIL/FAIL/FAIL

The only good thing, though, is that the second room is booked, and I will get to spend time with my mother and sister, and none of this will go to support the Trumps or Hilton family.

Now, I have to go suck up. This is painful. Really, really painful. But I don’t want my hotel stay to resemble a 20/20 investigation.

Fail/fail/fail/fail/fail/fail/fail/fail/FAIL/win. Ish.

Commence the fist shaking.

Written by fudgebudget

May 3, 2011 at 10:50 pm

Leave a Reply

