Fudgebudget

Wherein I express myriad incredulities

Don’t Ask Don’t Tolerate

leave a comment »

After receiving many complaints from various (one) family member(s), I have removed my “liberal” (which is all subjective, really) political rants from my Facebook page. Which means you get to hear them here!  Hooray for you.

At any rate, here is my issue today: an article on military chaplains and DADT.

A highlights from the article includes the following quote (incidentally, I’m wishing now that this was a NYT article so I could use the nifty new highlighting feature … because I’m a library nerd).

Among the issues raised by chaplains, according to the report, is whether a change in policy would hinder ministers’ religious expression, particularly for those faiths that consider homosexuality immoral.

Wait, I’m sorry, I must have misread – apparently these chaplains, presumably working in such sensitive environments as combat and intelligence collection, don’t feel like they can do their job without engaging in discrimination and divisiveness? What?

Now, I have never served, but I know a lot of people who have, and I have done a whole lot of research about it.  One of the recurring themes that I hear about is trust. You need to be able to trust the people around you when you’re doing dangerous stuff – sounds reasonable, right?

And I know that was one of the issues with repealing DADT – that if some people were to find out that the guys/gals with whom they were working were gay, that they wouldn’t be able to trust them (because the discriminators have serious personal issues that they need to work through, apparently).

So, in light of that, how dangerous is it, then, to have that discrimination sanctioned by your chaplain, who wants to be able to tell you that you’re right – that you can’t trust homosexuals – that they are an abomination and inherently living in sin?

I am totally okay with chaplains being prevented from saying things like that. Completely. I know that some things are valid exceptions to the “no mixing government and religion” rule – and that in stressful situations, a chaplain may be a huge condolence. I get why a person would need his/her faith in the military.

But really? Can a chaplain not do his/her job without engaging in discriminatory speech? If s/he can’t evoke a message of faith without dividing soldiers and military personnel, then maybe s/he doesn’t belong there. At that point, the chaplain is the problem, not the gay soldier.

Written by fudgebudget

December 6, 2010 at 2:12 am

Leave a Reply

