Fudgebudget

Wherein I express myriad incredulities

U.M. ARMY

leave a comment »

As an adolescent, I spent probably 50% of my time at church. If I wasn’t at school or asleep, I was at church. This includes summers.

Every summer, my church’s youth would go on UMARMY (United Methodist Action Reach-Out Mission by Youth) projects in small towns around Texas. I made it to two of these – one before my freshman year, and one after my senior year (the years in between I spent on other projects and internships – I did not have much idle time in my youth). Both experiences were … insane.

With UMARMY, we were forced to associate with other churches during the day, because for all of the small projects we were working on, we were split into small mixed groups of 4-5 kids and an adult group leader from different churches. These projects consisted of activities like rebuilding porches, painting houses, or the dreaded Roof Repairs (I always felt bad for those people – they would come back in the evenings covered in tar, but at least they usually got first dibs on showers).

My first year, I was placed with a group that consisted of a bunch of small town kids who, frankly, I could not relate to on … pretty much any level.

Somehow, after I had gone to college, I was asked to be a group leader at one of these things. After seeing a bunch of inexperienced high school boys do things like play with power tools in the rain, I declined.

Written by fudgebudget

October 29, 2010 at 2:17 pm

Leave a Reply

