Fudgebudget

Wherein I express myriad incredulities

People we know

leave a comment »

I had an occasion today to think about the relationships we form with people online.

It’s sort of amazing to me how we can have meaningful relationships with people that we may have never actually met in the flesh. I happen to post on a forum where many of us DO actually know each other in person. However, many of us met online and then the corporeal relationships followed.

We are close. We know each other well, and we’ve known each other for, in many cases, more than 6 or 7 years. We’ve posted through good times, bad times, times when we’ve had a lot in common, and times when we’ve disagreed (with some pretty spectacular insults on occasion).

No matter what we do, or what we’ve said to each other, we still get together when we can. It really is kind of like having an extended family sometimes.

We lost a long time member of our group recently. I think that most of us were surprised with how shaken up by it we’ve been. I was pretty much worthless at work today after finding out; I didn’t know what to do with myself (even more than usual). I was too sad to motivate myself, and too fuzzy to focus.  And the Boyfriend and I were unabashedly relieved to come home to a bottle of good red wine.

It made me think a lot about the relationships we form online. They aren’t empty. Whatever medium through which they may be hosted, they are genuine personal connections that mean something. They are significant. We are personally invested.

And I couldn’t help but think at the Boyfriend: Please, please, never make me have to tell the forum that you’re gone.

Written by fudgebudget

October 23, 2010 at 3:16 am

Posted in General

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

