Fudgebudget

Wherein I express myriad incredulities

National Coming Out Day

with 2 comments

Today is an important day – it’s National Coming Out Day.

Boyfriend and I have been together for more than 6 years, living a life of hetero-normative privilege – and it DOES feel like privilege, now more than ever.

I am blessed to have some amazing people in my life who do not identify as straight, and I love them even more for being so brave and egalitarian and accepting.  They are incredible people, and while they are confident and fearless in my eyes, I know that coming out has not been easy for any of them.

I just finished reading this story, which broke my heart. Several gang members were recently arraigned for a brutal assault on a couple of youths that they had heard might be gay. The graphic and horrific nature of the assaults is appalling and difficult for me to accept as having happened at all.

Not only is there a special place in my heart for GLBTQ issues, but I also spent some time earlier in life as a crisis intervention advocate for sexual assault survivors. This story about two young men being violently persecuted for their perceived lifestyles is unspeakably tragic.

I know that you can’t blame any one specific person for these things. At least not rationally.

However, to make myself feel better, I am picking a scapegoat. I am choosing to blame Karl Rove, because he is “the Architect” of this hyper-conservative climate in which we live.

I blame Karl Rove and the hateful rhetoric of those who sympathize with him for this trickle down effect from the top that we have experienced. Because I can.

It cheapens our ability to call ourselves a “civilized” species when we tolerate hate and persecution of those who aren’t hurting anyone. Attacking and oppressing shouldn’t be the only way to make ourselves feel better (which is why I draw comics).

Fortunately, not all of us subscribe to the philosophies of Karl Rove. Some of us still have our humanity. I don’t want to make this an “us” versus “them” issue – that would be too ironic – we’re all human; some just aren’t very humane.

I don’t think Karl Rove is a human being anyway. I’m pretty sure that he is an android programmed by Dick Cheney, who is actually HAL. (And I just found out that the stock market abbreviation for Halliburton is HAL – IT ALL MAKES SENSE NOW.)

If you are reading this, and you are thinking about coming out today, remember that there are a lot of us in the world who think you are awesome for being true to yourself and are more than happy to have your back. There are so many people out here who want to help and support you.

I encourage everyone today, regardless of gender or orientation, to make this a day of tolerance and acceptance. Maybe a little more love out in the world will make things a little better for us all.

Written by fudgebudget

October 11, 2010 at 6:25 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. why dont you architect yourself a parachute! love it!

    natalie

    October 11, 2010 at 7:46 pm

  2. i literally work in the closet (a converted paper supply closet with shelves above me that threaten collapsing in). i am thinking about getting a big rainbow flag for my door or maybe i’ll pin a big pink triangle on my lapel that way people will know, and they won’t have to cawfee tawk about it.

    mai-mai

    October 18, 2010 at 3:07 pm


Leave a Reply

