Fudgebudget

Wherein I express myriad incredulities

Ski trip

leave a comment »

During my sophomore year of college, I was asked to chaperone a youth ski trip for my home church. They must have been seriously short on adults, because that is the only reason I can think of when you’d ask a 19-20 year old to chaperone other teenagers on this sort of occasion.

I was to supervise 3 or 4 girls in my condo, although not surprisingly, there were almost always more youth in there than just my own. At any given time, there were usually at least another 5-6 kids hanging out in my space. This was probably because I did not force them to participate in any planned activities or icebreakers (UGH THE DREADED “ICEBREAKERS.” SO MUCH HATE.).

There was a parent on the trip who had made it pretty clear that she did not approve of me being a chaperone. This was due more to past personal conflicts than my actual competence – no amount of competence can protect a person from church politics.

I soon figured out that she was “randomly” coming over to make sure that I was not a total failure at life and that all of my kids were still alive and MAYBE, just MAYBE, she’d catch me doing something wrong that she could hold against me.

One of these times, she showed up while I was in the shower. Christmas was right before this trip, and my mom had given me some bodywash/shampoo that smelled like peppermint and candy canes, so I had brought it with me to use.

When I came out of the bathroom, it was to a bunch of terrorized looking teenagers.

So they told me about the scary Parent visit.

So she smelled the peppermint bodywash coming from the bathroom, and Crazy ACTUALLY THOUGHT that I was letting my kids drink, and that their alcohol of choice would have been peppermint schnapps.

Written by fudgebudget

October 5, 2010 at 4:55 pm

Posted in Comic, General

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

