Fudgebudget

Wherein I express myriad incredulities

She’s a regular.

leave a comment »

The Boyfriend and I decided to make a quick trip through the Starbucks drive-through last night. This was a mistake, because any time you plan on making a “quick trip” somewhere, it inevitably turns into a long ordeal (at least in my experience), and last night was no exception.  As we pulled up to the window, we noticed a person walking next to the car.  Perplexed, I slowed down in case Crazy decided to run in front of me (again, caution based on frequent experience, not limited to the drunk dude that fell in front of my car on my way to work the other day and the crazy lady who ran out in front of my car in Colorado recently).  Again, this was a mistake.  Don’t slow down for crazy people, because stuff like this happens.

It was at the point that I was reminded of the time that I was explaining my “Flypaper for Crazies” philosophy to a friend several years ago at another Starbucks, far away in Texas.  As I elaborated on the fact that I attract crazy people, a person wearing a bathrobe and plastic bracelet on his wrist approached the table and said, “Could y’all please give me bus fare?  I gotsta get back to the institution – I got papers and everything, see?”  And indeed, he really did have papers.  My friend looked at me, gave him $10, and sent him on his merry way, you know, before we got mauled.  You can’t make this stuff up.

I had a lot of time to think about this since it took Crazy FOREVER to order whatever she was ordering.

Also, this is her leaning over to talk DIRECTLY into the mic – my mad Paint skillz have limits, apparently.

FINALLY, after more than 5 minutes of just sitting there, she finishes her order and, of course, walks to the drive-through window.

When she walks off, we drive up to the window and have a laugh with the guy about the ridiculousness that just happened.  And then the guy says:

… as if that is some sort of excuse?  Like not having your car there means that you can’t GO INSIDE????  I thought, “Maybe she just has the worst case of claustrophobia EVER?” until I remembered, “Wait, she has an RV here.  There’s NO WAY that going inside a Starbucks is less claustrophobic than being in an RV.”  The weirdest part of all of this is not the obvious Crazy person, but the fact that the Starbucks staff was so accommodating – WHAT?  “She’s a regular.”  Sigh.

Written by fudgebudget

August 18, 2010 at 6:38 pm

Posted in Comic, General

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

